News by Date
News by Category
Solar System
White Dwarfs
Neutron Stars
Black Holes
Milky Way Galaxy
Normal Galaxies
Galaxy Clusters
Cosmology/Deep Field
Press Resources
Status Reports
Press Advisories
Image Releases
Release Guidelines
Image Use Policy
Web Shortcuts
Chandra Blog
RSS Feed
Email Newsletter
News & Noteworthy
Image Use Policy
Questions & Answers
Glossary of Terms
Download Guide
Get Adobe Reader
Related Links

Chandra @ NASA
Visit the Chandra pages at the NASA portal (opens in new window)
Image Use
Image Use Policy & Request Form
Guidelines for utilizing images, applets, movies, and animations featured in this Web Site.
2012 Einstein Fellows Chosen

For Release: April 2, 2012


NASA has announced the selection of the 2012 Einstein Fellows who will conduct research related to NASA's Physics of the Cosmos program, which aims to expand our knowledge of the origin, evolution, and fate of the Universe.

The Einstein Fellowship provides support to the awardees for three years, and the Fellows may pursue their research at a host university or research center of their choosing in the United States. The new Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2012.

The new Einstein Fellows in alphabetical order and their host institutions are listed below:

  • Laura Blecha (University of Maryland, College Park)
  • Julia Hlavaeck-Lorrondo (Stanford, Palo Alto, Calif.)
  • Ann-Marie Madigan (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Joey Neilsen (Boston University)
  • Chris Nixon (University of Colorado, Boulder)
  • Smadar Naoz (Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.)
  • Christian Reisswig (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
  • Fabian Schmidt (Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.)
  • Leo Stein (Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.)
  • Meng Su (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.)
  • Justin Vandenbroucke (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Menlo Park, Calif.)
  • Reinout van Weeren (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Cambridge, Mass.)

Full biographies and other information about this year's Einstein Fellows are available at

NASA has two other astrophysics theme-based fellowship programs: the Sagan Fellowship Program, which supports research into exoplanet exploration, and the Hubble Fellowship Program, which supports research into cosmic origins.

More information on the Einstein Fellowships can be found at

Media contacts:
Megan Watzke
Chandra X-ray Center, Cambridge, Mass.